Roger Binny To Replace Sourav Ganguly As BCCI President, Jay Shah To Remain Secretary

The former Indian all-rounder Roger Binny is about to take over as the next President of the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI), which is a big milestone in the world of Indian cricket. 

Roger Binny will take over from Sourav Ganguly in this change of command; Ganguly is not anticipated to continue serving on the board. On October 18, during the BCCI's annual general meeting in Mumbai, the formal handover will take place. Let's examine this transition's specifics and the main players in more detail.

Jay Shah to Continue as BCCI Secretary

The son of India's home minister, Amit Shah, Jay Shah, will continue to play a significant role as the BCCI Secretary as Roger Binny ascends to the organisation's top position. Within the board, this position is of utmost importance and greatly aids in the management of Indian cricket. Rajiv Shukla will also keep his position as vice president of the board.

Fresh Faces in the Administration

Two newcomers will hold important positions in the future BCCI government. The Treasurer will be Ashish Shelar, who formerly held the position of President of the Mumbai Cricket Association from 2017 to 2019. Devajit Saikia, who is now the Assam Cricket Association's Secretary, will take over as Joint Secretary.

Arun Dhumal Set to Lead as IPL Chairman

Arun Dhumal, who will take over as the new IPL Chairman, is one of the most important appointments. Former Indian batsman Brijesh Patel formerly held this post. As he will reach 70 on November 24, Patel will have to resign from his position. 

The BCCI's constitution, which prohibits office holders or administrators from serving over this age, supports this age restriction. It is anticipated that Arun Dhumal, the brother of former BCCI President Anurag Thakur, will contribute his experience and knowledge to this important position.

Arun Dhumal will initially need to run for a seat on the IPL governing council as a formality. Avishek Dalmiya, the son of former BCCI and ICC heavyweight Jagmohan Dalmiya, will join him on the council. 

Khairul Majumdar will be replaced by Avishek, who is currently the President of the Cricket Association of Bengal, and will assume the position of the BCCI's general body representative on the board's Apex Council.

Uncontested Election for BCCI President

The only applicant for the BCCI President position was Roger Binny. There were no more candidates once the nominations deadline passed. The next BCCI elections on October 18 will therefore not include any elections for any positions. 

This choice was made following conversations with leading previous and present administrators from well-known state organisations and key BCCI officials, including Sourav Ganguly. These significant meetings included participation from important individuals including former BCCI President and ICC Chairman N Srinivasan, former BCCI Secretary Niranjan Shah, former BCCI Treasurer Anirudh Chaudhry, and Delhi & Districts Association President Rohan Jaitley.

Age-Cap Rule Influences Leadership Changes

These changes in leadership were significantly influenced by the age-cap law. Due to this rule and Brijesh Patel's advancing age, his time as IPL Chairman is drawing to a close. This is the upper age restriction set forth in the BCCI Constitution for office holders and administrators. 

After six years of service, the Supreme Court used to require a three-year cooling-off period, but it recently changed this norm. Jay Shah and other office holders are able to serve through 2025 thanks to this modification.

The election of Roger Binny as the next BCCI President represents a substantial change in the direction of Indian cricket's administration. The BCCI wants to keep advancing and growing cricket in India with the help of knowledgeable and skilled people like Jay Shah and Arun Dhumal. Fans eagerly anticipate the contributions of this new leadership team to the sport's expansion and success in the nation. These changes reflect the dynamic character of cricket administration.

When is the BCCI power transfer scheduled?
The BCCI's annual general meeting in Mumbai on October 18 will mark the transition.
Which role will Jay Shah play in BCCI administration?
Jay Shah will remain BCCI Secretary, a crucial position.
Who will be BCCI Vice-President under the new administration?
Rajiv Shukla remains BCCI Vice-President.
Are there any BCCI administrators newcomers?
Ashish Shelar will be the Treasurer and Devajit Saikia Joint Secretary as new BCCI administrators newcomers.