Sourav Ganguly Asia Cup picks
26 Aug 2023

Sourav Ganguly Announces ODI Squad for ICC Men's Cricket World Cup 2023

2023 World Cup: One-Day International The World Cup 2023 will be the biggest sporting event of 2023, and India has the fantastic chance to host the enormous tournament. Sourav Ganguly, a former Indian captain, has chosen his ODI team for the upcoming ICC Men's Cricket World Cup 2023. For the men in blue, Ganguly chose a solid top order of Rohit Sharma, Shubman Gill, and Ishan Kishan, followed by a middle order with experience in Virat Kohli, KL Rahul, Shreyas Iyer, and Suryakumar Yadav. KL Rahul and Shreyas Iyer were among the 15 players who had recently returned from injury but had yet to prove their match fitness.

As potential wicketkeepers, Ganguly chose Kishan and Rahul, and Hardik Pandya was chosen as vice-captain. Kuldeep Yadav was the only pure spinner on the team, with Ravindra Jadeja and Akshar Patel the potential spin all-rounders .Tilak Varma and Yuzvendra Chahal have not been selected into the team, but he stated that they would be his first choice if any of the players became injured

According to Ganguly, as quoted by ANI, "Tilak Varma [would come in] if one of the middle-order batters gets unfit." If one of the fast bowlers becomes ineffective, Prasidh Krishna would take over; if one of the spinners were ineffective, Yuzvendra Chahal would."I'll select Chahal every time. Regardless of what the selectors believe, I'll always choose wrist spinners, he continued."You need youth; a strong team is a blend of experience and youth. Therefore, in addition to the season campaigners like Rohit, Virat, Rahul, Jadeja, and Pandya, you need the flamboyance and fearlessness of youth. You need someone who simply acts fearlessly, Ganguly said. "This team is incredibly strong. The return of Bumrah strengthens the team even more. The bowling trio of Shami, Bumrah, and Siraj is excellent. A better fast bowling attack is impossible to find. And Jadeja' s wrist spinner spin, too,"  Ganguly had earlier said to Star Sports. The World Cup begins on Thursday, October 5 with a match between 2019 finalists England and New Zealand in Ahmedabad's Narendra Modi Stadium, and it concludes with the championship game there on Sunday, November 19. Indian World Cup team of Sourav Ganguly includes: Rohit Sharma (C), Shubman Gill, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, Suryakumar Yadav, Ishan Kishan, KL Rahul, Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel, Hardik Pandya (VC), Kuldeep Yadav, Mohammed Shami, Mohammed Siraj, Jasprit Bumrah, and Shardul Thakur.The clash between India and Pakistan was originally slated to take place in Ahmedabad on Sunday, 15 October, but this has been moved a day earlier and will now be held at the same venue on Saturday, 14 October.